T Nation

Job ADD?

I’m 31. I graduated 10 years ago. I have held 3 technical jobs (2 yrs, 5 yrs, now 3 yrs). But I get bored easily.

Here’s my pattern:
start new job
bust ass
do good job
get bored
find new job

Do I have career ADD, or wtf? Does this happen to you guys? Or am I alone?

I am back in school to broaden my employment options. But still I anticipate getting bored again.

What gives?

Perhaps I just don’t know what I want to do yet. Right now, getting in to the weight training / physical fitness industry is appealing, but it’s probably a phase, and I couldn’t deal with the pay cut. Any of you do part time personal training while maintaining “regular” professional jobs?

Suggestions? Ideas? Comments?

Thanks,
BFG

PS: Vroom’s wisdom is requested.

Start your own company. You are probably getting bored because you do not feel a strong enough connection to your job(s).

[quote]BFG wrote:
…Right now, getting in to the weight training / physical fitness industry is appealing, but it’s probably a phase…[/quote]

And from his profile:

Years Training: [quote]15[/quote]

Have you gotten bored with training? If not, I don’t think you should dismiss a career there. What is the worst that could happen? You get bored with it, also? Most of the time finding a career that doesn’t bore you involves undertaking something that you are already passionate about. If training is the thing, give it a shot.

Conversely, maybe you are just the nomadic type. There isn’t anything inherently wrong with that, other than job-hopping might not be the best thing to have on your CV.

My $0.02: If you have 15 years of training experience, and you’ve spent enough time on T-Nation to rack up almost 400 posts, you obviously enjoy this kind of lifestyle. Why not give it a shot as a career?

~Terumo

[quote]BFG wrote:
I’m 31. I graduated 10 years ago. I have held 3 technical jobs (2 yrs, 5 yrs, now 3 yrs). But I get bored easily.

Here’s my pattern:
start new job
bust ass
do good job