Jmiller10's FIREADY Log

My name is Jordan Miller. I am 30 years old. I’m married, and have a 4 year old daughter. I am a Firefighter/Paramedic for the city of San Gabriel Fire Dept. I have been in the fire service for about 7 years total. I have always been very into fitness. I have been a member of a crossfit gym, as well as have my own home garage gym. Working as a firefighter, it is very important to stay ready for the job. There is a huge difference between being in shape and looking good, and being in shape for the job itself. Firefighting often requires very strenuous hard work at a moments notice without any warm up. It requires you to push your body past your comfort zone because the people we are serving deserve that. This program will be the first program I participate in that is specifically geared towards the fire service. I am excited for the challenge ahead of me, and I know that this program is going to lead the way for future fire departments to incorporate into their fitness routines to get them “job” ready.

4 Likes

Completed Day 1 Block 1

Started with Zercher Squats at 115 lbs 3x12
This was difficult at first because I was unfamiliar with this movement. I felt by engaging my core during the squat I felt more comfortable with the weight. The tempo of these squats is everything, making it much more difficult than expected. I finished all sets, and was really feeling it by set 3

The next round was Bench Press at 185 lbs 3x12
This felt good, however the tempo made the final set much more difficult.

Chin Ups 3x12
These were very difficult for me, and I required a band to assist in my chin ups. I completed all 12 the first set, the next set was broken up into 6 and 6. My last set was broken up in 4, 4, 4. I only rested the 15 seconds between sets

Last set was Rack Pull Below Knees at 185 lbs 3x12
I completed all the required reps, and I feel that I could maybe up my weight slightly