Jim Wendler's Best

Jim I’ve been using 531 for 5 years now and u absolutely love it. I’ve used many different templates and combinations of templates. I have a feeling especially since reading your most recent posts on your site and this one that you feel that the original program with bodyweight assistance and NOV is the best to way train unless competing in powerlifting or whatever. Would you say this is true by the way it’s how I’m currently training with my goals being a 6 minute mile, 25 reps chins, 100 straight pushups, 25 straight dips, plus a 500 squat and deadlift and 365 bench (I’m already close to those). Obviously this would be over a couple years to reach these

[quote]NerfHerder4life wrote:
Jim I’ve been using 531 for 5 years now and u absolutely love it. I’ve used many different templates and combinations of templates. I have a feeling especially since reading your most recent posts on your site and this one that you feel that the original program with bodyweight assistance and NOV is the best to way train unless competing in powerlifting or whatever. Would you say this is true by the way it’s how I’m currently training with my goals being a 6 minute mile, 25 reps chins, 100 straight pushups, 25 straight dips, plus a 500 squat and deadlift and 365 bench (I’m already close to those). Obviously this would be over a couple years to reach these[/quote]

There really isn’t a “best” template necessarily. Jim believes in everything that he has put out. Pick the template that you enjoy the most, and one that you can commit to 100%. For your goals, maybe it is the original program and BW assistance like you said. But if you don’t get a training boner for it, then it won’t matter if this is the best path for you. Good luck.

When I work with someone personally, I make sure to concentrate on three areas: mobility, strength and conditioning. Within these three things, we make changes depending on the person’s goals and current training level.