T Nation

I've Been Doing 'All Pros' Wrong. Opinions?

Hey guys,
just some background information. I'm a beginner, started working out last year around end of August. Wasn't really serious back then and mucked around with some workouts and only started getting serious few months ago.

I've been CONSISTENTLY following AllPro's beginner routine for about 3-4 cycles ( 5 weeks per cycle ) and how it works is full body training for 3 days a week. Exercises look something like this: Squats, BB bench press, Rows, Shoulder Presses, Deadlifts and two isolation exercises: bicep curls and calf raises at the end. All exercises are performed for 4 sets each and reps increase from 8-12 over the span of 5 weeks.

So here's the problem. Instead of doing a heavy day, moderate and then light day, I have been clueless and doing 3 HEAVY days instead. Just wondering if this could lead to over training (since I am a beginner) or any other negative effects. And is there any point of having medium and light days?

My diet is good and I am consistent with it, slight bulk with a small surplus.

No! You’re not doing the fucking program! Stop! Even if you’ve been making consistant gains, stop now or you’ll never make consistant gains!

It’s REALLY hard to overtrain, most people don’t have the time; although under recovery can be an issue. Working in varying rep ranges & weights allows you to work different aspects of strength & athleticism, such as strength endurance etc, etc. MHL (or whatever) set-ups also keep you a bit fresher. I’d do the routine as written.

The typical recommended routines for beginners (like starting strength, stronglifts, greyskull etc) have you lifting heavy 3 times per week and lots of people do very well on these.

If you’re making progress and you like the program, then just keep going!

At this stage, no, keep going exactly as you have been because it has been working for you.