"It's Just the Flu, Bro!"

I’ve read many social-media posts and some articles in which the coronavirus is undermined, I believe. Some people have said it’s “the flu”, as in the flu we are familiar with. I’ve been working in hospitals and nursing homes for over fifteen years. Never before have I heard of or observed the death rates in facilities my friends and I work in.

So far, my old place of work has had 54 deaths in four weeks amongst residents/patients and two amongst staff. In the five years I worked there, I estimate we had zero to two deaths per month. Not all of the deaths were confirmed covid cases, but some were. I don’t believe this is a coincidence, as if Spring came, and poof, 56 people drop dead from illness. A former co-worker from that place has the virus and he said some time ago he thought he was going to die and was about to write a farewell letter. Yes, he has a pre-existing condition, hypertension, but that is all, and he is not a senior citizen.

And a similar situation is going on in my current place of work. There are several confirmed cases, and I believe several more will occur because of exposure. So far we’ve had more deaths in a weekend than typically happens in a few months.

I have read or heard all sorts of stuff, which I don’t believe is true, nor do I think the people spewing such messages are correct. Actually, I don’t know who is correct. “It only affects old people.” “If you’re heathy, your chance of dying is zero.” “It’s just the flu bro.” “The death rate was overestimated.” “It’s no more contagious than the flu.” “Every year, people die from strains of the flu.”

OK, my question is, if I’ve been working in healthcare for fifteen years, and gone through plenty of flu seasons, why have I not observed such a death and illness rate unit this year?! Is this a coincidence?

This whole situation seems surreal.

5 Likes

Hear a lot of eejits saying “it’s basically just the flu” or how the response to Covid-19 is too much etc.