It's a Good Day to... restart 5/3/1

So I started training almost 10 years ago and the sad thing is I probably look the same as I did then (just with some grey starting to show in the temples, chin and even the chest a couple of weeks ago!)

So I am starting a new log because back 10 years ago I made some ok progress due mostly to the wisdom and support of the fine folks on forums like this. I could do with some of that again as I make one final attempt to get the physique I’ve been after since 2009. I say “final” because I’m 34 now and if I don’t hit the goals this time, I won’t be starting a new log in 2029!

Why do I think this time will be different? To start with I’m not a massive fat lump like I was in 2009, I’m a skinny fat lump. Stats are 145lbs, 5 foot 8 inches, some visibility to the top 4 abs and some veins in the arms. Also I’ve learnt how I like to train - previously I hopped around programs too much and didn’t give enough time to progress in a meaningful way. I don’t like the bro-splits and prefer to train upper/lower or fullbody which is ok because my lifts are pathetically light so I should be able to recover.

I will be lifting 4x per week using this split The Hybrid Split. It is 2x fullbody workouts and then 1x upper body and 1x lower body. You get to hit everything 3 times per week and the upper day allows a bit more volume for the curls!!

The week will look like this:
Monday: Upper (AM)
Tuesday: Lower (AM)
Wednesday: Football (PM)
Thursday: Fullbody 1 (PM)
Friday: Off
Saturday: Fullbody 2 (AM)
Sunday: Off

In terms of exercises I have selected them as below (focus on developing legs and shoulders)
FULLBODY 1:
Military press
Cable upright row + Cable rear delt row
Chin ups
Decline chest press machine
Leg press
BB RDL
Split squat
Calf raise

FULLBODY 2:
Front squat
Hip thrust
Hip belt squat
Hamstring curl
Machine row
Incline chest press machine
Behind the neck overhead press
Rear delt flyes + Lat raise

UPPER:
Decline bench
Machine flyes