Isolate Pecs from Triceps

I’m relatively new to bodybuilding, and I’m pretty weak all around, but I’m looking for advice about lifts that will focus on my pecs. What I’ve noticed is that when I do things like pushups, barbell benches, dumbell benches, etc., my triceps get fatigued and are nice and sore the next day, but my pecs feel like they didn’t get a workout. In other words, I seem unbalanced with the limitation of my weak triceps seemingly preventing me from hitting my pecs. Does this make any sense?

So, I know I need to keep hitting the tris, and I have plenty of ideas for that, but in the meantime are there exercises I can do that will really hit the pecs?

Also, to prevent all the replies that are going to say this … I am doing lots of whole-body compound work to try to improve everything (squats, deads, pullups, dips, etc.) - so I am well aware that my whole body needs some serious work - but it seems like I can really hit every muscle group really well except my pecs, and it’s not because they are so strong but just because my triceps are so bad.

It could have something to do with how you are built. Your tris will have to be strong enough to support the load it takes to work your chest. If they are not able to keep up then you need to give them some extra attention. Dips will be beneficial. As far as exercises to isolate, I’ve had success with the floor press. (BB Bench lying on the floor)

Sounds like your triceps are still too weak and are the limiting factor during pressing chest work. Just keep working, throw in some pec deck work and cable flies to keep yourself happy for now.

Well pushups, barbell benches are basically tricep ex’s. Depending on your form, elbows in or flared.

Elbows in will hit your triceps better, flared will hit your chest more, but will put more strain on your shoulders.

DB Bench should be able to put more emphasis on your chest, at least for me.