Negative Self Image: Isn't It Scary?

I’ve made this thread, which will be more of an “article” that you’ll have access to share your thoughts, experiences and constructive criticisms on which is what these forums are about. My “article” today is motivated by forum threads, social media posts and anecdotal accounts I’ve listened to which all have one thing in common: negative self image.

I’m currently in my third year of undergraduate study, going through the process of conducting my dissertation on sports and fitness behaviours as an influencer of body image satisfaction and eating attitudes. I’ve commented on a few of these threads just a few minutes ago, both males around my age who show crazy delusions of lack of self worth and poor body image satisfaction. I’d like to give you a small amount psychology on the matter on the issue before I give you my own ten penneth worth.

Research like de Bruin (2007) has shown that Body Image Satisfaction and Eating Attitudes can become highly disorded in higher-tier athletes; especially aesthetic based sports e.g. dance or gymnastics (Garner & Garfinkel, 1980). On top of this, Abbot and Barber (2011) found that female adolescent athletes valued aspects of a functional body more than generally active counterparts and were more satisfied with how functional they were than both generally physically active and sedentary counterparts.

A study by Hausenblas and Fallon (2001) found BMI highly predicted low body image satisfaction whereas in males, exercise behaviours was the strongest predictor of low body satisfaction. This gender difference could be explained by Muscle Dysmorphia, or “Bigorexia”. Mosley (2009) states that muscle dysmorphia “entails compulsions to spend hours in the gym, squandering excessive amounts of money on ineffectual sports supplements, abnormal eating patterns or even substance abuse.”