Is Your Work Physical ?

For those people who are employed in the construction industry or any other manual labor related work, how do you go about your training?

Wether you are a bodybuilding/athlete etc, does your work require you to make adjustments to the way you train? For e.g. I work in the demolition industry and most of the work is done by hand, so I’m moving about and lifting light to moderate weight for most of the day. I wouldn’t say its too demanding, apart from some very hot summer days.

• Would you consider your work as a form of cardio even conditioning, (and if so do you still incorporate it into your training?)
  • What sort of set rep scheme do you use? (a rugby strength coach in the past has recommended to me before to not go over 8 reps.)
  • Do you find yourself needing to eat alot more for progressive gains and recovery?
  • How many days do you train?
  • Do you think manual related work can sometimes hamper or improve your results wether it be in the weight room or when trying to gain muscle?
  • Would pre-workout nutrition be vital?

etc…

This is in no means a place to winge or give excuses!

I guess I’ll try and get the ball rolling…

In the passed this is what ive done:

• concentrated on major lifts: DL, squat, presses etc changing every 4-6 weeks

• for most of the time rarely went over a total of 8 reps a set. The logic for this was given to me (as stated above) from NZ Strength Coach Ashley Jones, when I asked him a similar question regarding how rugby players would train in the gym if they had physical related jobs. He gave me the following split and I’ve been following this ever since:

Mon: Weighted Chins (4 x 6), Incline Bench Press (6 x 4), Back Squat (4 x 6)

Wed: Front Squat (6 x 4), Bench Press (8 x 3), Bentover Row (8 x 3)

Fri: Deadlift (8 x 3), Military Press (4 x 6), Upright Row (6 x 4)

• I train at home, so normally when I get home I have a pre-workout meal and then train 30-40mins after