T Nation

Is West Side For Me ?

Gday all,
first time poster on here.
A little background…

I started lifting seriously less than a year ago. Did all the studying I could and went through the whole BB type BULK phase thing. Now Im on one of those “CUT” Phase things. Thats when I realize Im really happy to move more plates around than care about the peak of my bicep.

Thus I wanna move onto a PL mindset. I looked at some options and West Side Barbell training system seemed very popular n effective.

A few ques: is WS any good for a relatively newbie lifter? … I mean my max lifts are less than what a lotta ppl use for 20 rep warmup sets !

-Theres soo much info on westside out there im thoroughly confused. Are there any links /articles explaining the bare basics. Im really confused nd need clarification.

-My gym doesnt have bands or chains… what do i do ?

Appreciate any responses,
best,
v.v.

Is this what you’re looking for mate?
http://t-nation.com/readTopic.do?id=459671

Bands and chains aren’t essential to conjugate periodisation, but they’re used because they’re great for targeting weak points.

I’m hoping someone else will chime in, but I think that as long as you aren’t ‘untrained’ then you can jump straight in, after all you’ll be working with your maxes and not some other blokes’.

[quote]varven wrote:
Gday all,
first time poster on here.
A little background…

I started lifting seriously less than a year ago. Did all the studying I could and went through the whole BB type BULK phase thing. Now Im on one of those “CUT” Phase things. Thats when I realize Im really happy to move more plates around than care about the peak of my bicep.

Thus I wanna move onto a PL mindset. I looked at some options and West Side Barbell training system seemed very popular n effective.

A few ques: is WS any good for a relatively newbie lifter? … I mean my max lifts are less than what a lotta ppl use for 20 rep warmup sets !