T Nation

Is This Going To Work?

Im working out three days a week. Using a workout that is simple aand seems to be doing what I want, adding size to my upper body and strength to my legs and back. Here is my problem and my proposed solution. I have just lost around 80 pounds, and Im really nervous about gaining weight again but i lost a lot of muscle and need to build some back up to keep my metabolism going.

I have heard it is hard to add muscle mass and lose fat at the same time. My self thought solution to this is work weights for 3 weeks eating more then enough protein to add muscle then on weeks 4 and 5 no weight training and going for a sprinting program to try to keep my metabolism burning like a furnace.

I am new to this and just trying to get some direction any help is appreciated. If you need info that i left out pm me or post and ill tell you what you want to know. Thanks guys this site is very helpful and filled with helpful people.

I'm not sure if sprinting will help your metabolism any more than weight training, but an interesting idea.

I think if when you are doing your three weeks of weight training, you workout hard enough and with enough volume to cause a slight over-training effect (performance drops slightly) that you will need an intensification phase and sprinting may actually do the trick. I'd do the sprinting for only a week though.

Neither I or anybody I've trained have tried it so I cannot give an experienced answer, but I can say that I'm intrigued. If you do it, and it works, let us know.

Worst case scenario is that it doesn't work as well as you thought. It won't hurt to try it.

Rolo

As I was proofing this I was thinking more and more that it may be worth my trying it. I hope you give it a shot.

I would do a maintenance cycle.