Is This Cardio Overkill?

Okay, so I’ve been dieting down slowly again for about 2 months or so now. I think I’ve lost somewhere around 15-20 lbs, but that’s a guess, because I haven’t weighed myself. I’m finally starting to get down to a level where my body isn’t complete repulsive, but it’s time to kick it into higher gear. It’s time to start a true “cutting” phase.

As of now, which I’m starting today, I’m doing just less than 30 minutes of pretty intense cardio right after my lifting sessions, and on my off days I’m doing 60 minutes of pretty intense cardio. All this is on an elliptical.

My cardio today looked something like this, though definitely more varied:
1 minute 17 Resistance
1 minute 16 Resistance
1 minute 15 Resistance
1 minute 14 Resistance
Repeat
2 minutes 12 Resistance

And then I’d pretty much repeat that over and over for a painstakingly boring hour.

I’m thinking about (on off days) doing an additional bit of cardio in the evenings, maybe around 30 minutes of fairly intense intervals, say something like:

2 minutes 15 Resistance
1 minute 13 Resistance
1 minute 12 Resistance (Sprinting final 30 seconds)
1 minute 10 Resistance

And then repeating that.

I guess my question is if you guys think this is overkill or not. I’d like to bump up cardio so I can still eat a fair amount of calories without it affecting the diet too much.

To put things in perspective, I burned just under 800 calories during my 60 minute session I just got done with.

Thanks in advance.

Have you tried fasted cardio in the morning?

How many days a week are you doing cardio? Every day? That’s a lot of time on that fucking elliptical. Are you getting results?

That is alot of fuckin cardio man. If you have calipers and eat enough to keep a constant 2-3 loss a week you are fine. If you almost faint one day then you’ve done too much. Still…that’s like cutting for a contest(take it a little easier.)

[quote]analog_kid wrote:
Are you getting results?[/quote]

this.