Is This an Effective Program?

I am 21 years old, I have been training for 7 years, I’m 5 feet 9 inches tall, and weigh 210 pounds.

Current numbers
Back Squat: 445 pounds for 5 reps
Deadlift: 530 pounds for 5 reps
Bench (BB): 285 for 5 reps
Overhead Press (BB): 195 pounds for 5 reps

My current routine is
A.
Back Squat
DB Bench
Deadlift

B.
Front Squat
Overhead Press BB
Power Clean

3 sets of 5 for everything except power cleans where I do 5 sets of 3. I train 3 days per week alternating workouts A&B. On two of my days off I like to hit the mats and get in some wrestling practice.

My question is do you guys think that this is an effective training program that will allow me to continue to improve? Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Joseph

Personally I wouldn’t try to full deadlift and squat on the same day, but if you can do it, fine. I also probably wouldn’t power clean after front squatting, or at all!

Dude, this is not a good routine. There are much better routines out there. First I would choose either westside or periodization, both work, you’ll just have to find out which one works best for you. If you put in Ed Coan’s name as a search you’ll find a number of his work outs, or others like Ed who do periodization; or you can go to the elite fitness systems web site or Westside barbell and find numerous articles that will put you on the right track.

The best advise I could give you is to find a good powerlifting coach in your area and start training with him or her.

George

You’ve been training for seven years, post those numbers, and you come here asking if that’s a good routine? Come on, you know what works for you and what doesn’t.

[quote]Noodle_Arms wrote:
You’ve been training for seven years, post those numbers, and you come here asking if that’s a good routine? Come on, you know what works for you and what doesn’t. [/quote]

word! I’d kill for those numbers

There two questions you should ask:

1. What are my goals?