Is the Whole Assessment Craze a Con?

Hi Guys,
I’ve been a trainer since 1985 and I like to think that I try to keep up with current trends. Over the years some have been good and others not so good.

One of the current trends is assessing your clients; after this you plan in mobility drills, foam rolling, static stretching, and recovery work. I do this -sort of… I watch people perform the exercises that are needed for their goals and I coach them -am I old fashioned or what? Some of these folk will get some foam rolling, etc, others won’t.

99% of those I train want to lose weight, they couldn’t care less about how they score on some movement screen, they’re only interested in losing the blubber!

At present I take a Blood Pressure reading and will assess each movement that they do in their programme (obviously I watch their movement between exercises as well). Much of the time this will lead to them being given Leg Swings and Shoulder rotations with a stick, and maybe some foam rolling. I am also lucky enough to be able to give my clients moves on the Powerplate which I really like for mobility and recovery.

My question to you is - how essential are assessments, and am I being unprofessional by not performing a full screen with each client?

Let me have it!

Cheers,
Chris

It all depends on the client and their goals. Performing numbers of assessments on an athlete who wishes to reach their full potential is necessary to find any and all weaknesses relative to their sport, while those who just want to lose weight are much easier assessed by watching them do the exercises. If anything sticks out that you feel needs to be addressed then move on to a more thorough assessment. Keep doing what you’re doing and strive to do it better.