Is the Guaranteed Muscle Mass Program for Me?

Hi Paul, I’d like to know wether or not the GMM program would be something for me. I’m 6ft, 165lbs, 26 y/o with 13-15% bodyfat. I started training 2.5 years ago and gained 35lbs. Had to take a full year off b/c of a shoulder injury (torn labrum). Because of that I can’t do pull-ups anymore.

My current lifts are: bench 135lbsx8, ohp 95x6, squat 205x5 and DL 225x5.

I’d like to increase upper body mass, legs are growing fine… But upper body not so much.

How should I eat? Slight surplus/maintenance/deficit?

I’m a bit sceptical about the 350 method as it’s high rep sets, do they really work for natties?

Thanks!

:man_facepalming:

My facepalm is for that last line there about natty’s. This shit is honestly driving me insane and I’m glad we’re going to address with it f’n science today on the podcast.

I can’t tell you how to eat because you need to determine that based on your goals. I’ve also written multiple articles on here about bulking and cutting phases.

Right now you’re weak as hamster piss, so regardless of what you do routine wise you need to go from a 135x8 bench to more than that.

I don’t think that the GMM type program is for you with where you’re at right now. I’d look into my last article about the driver for muscle growth.

4 Likes

This?

Yes there’s a program in there that was ran for the study that article outlines. It’s simple, solid and most likely what you need at this point. It gives frequency, varying rep ranges etc. main point is stick with it. Don’t have program ADD. Hit PRs with the movements and you’ll grow. Simple

Good luck

^ Correct

You recommend the 5 or 10 set variant?

I think Paul said 8 sets probably be good for most so Maybe the 10 set protocol just based on that.