Is the Bar Weight Included?

When lifting numbers come up, is the 45lb olympic bar generally included? This is for DL, squat, presses, and rowing. I also wanted to know if the bar is counted with PL meets or the NFL combine bench press event.

yes.

Yes

[quote]Squash85 wrote:
When lifting numbers come up, is the 45lb olympic bar generally included? This is for DL, squat, presses, and rowing. I also wanted to know if the bar is counted with PL meets or the NFL combine bench press event. [/quote]

so… you’re joking?

what kind of fucking logic would there be in not counting the bar? last time i checked 45 lbs was 45 lbs, not zero.

It’s ok, Joe. We had him at “yes”.

haha I honestly didn’t know or think to care what the bar weighed when I started lifting. I remember hearing my skinny friend say he deadlifted 225 when my max was like 250 and I was like whoa, really? something seemed off till I realized he was counting the 45 pound bar and all my lifts were actually 45 pounds heavier than I’d thought! lol

One of my favourite threads on the topic…
http://www.T-Nation.com/tmagnum/readTopic.do?id=1544644

Only when you lift it.

not this again!

Hahahaha, wow

It doesn’t count because it is a counterweight. You see, the bar is so evenly distributed that it actually helps you.

Big Bad Joe sittin’ em motherfuckers down!

The only way you can consider a bar a counter weight is if it negates some of the weight you’re lifting. The bar on a pull-down machine is an example of this

[quote]Rick Jakubowski wrote:
The only way you can consider a bar a counter weight is if it negates some of the weight you’re lifting. The bar on a pull-down machine is an example of this[/quote]

counterweight

noun

1. a weight that balances another weight

verb

1. constitute a counterweight or counterbalance to

WordNet? 3.0, ? 2006 by Princeton University.

see, so I told you it was a counter weight!!!

Don’t worry guys, tomorrow spring break ends and I’ll have a lot less time to kill.