T Nation

Is Tae Kwon Do Worth It?

Basically what the title says. Found out there’s a club at my college. Just saying “club at my college” doesn’t sound very tough, which I don’t think it’s supposed to, but…you know. Kinda still want it to sound cool.

They also teach Hapkido and something with swords. It’s a couple one hour sessions a week. It’s free. Those are the pros.

I’m really only interested in doing it if it’ll actually transfer to any real life situations. I’m sure boxing, wrestling, or maybe BJJ would be best, but they don’t offer any of that here. I’m not worried about getting beat up - I mean, it could definitely happen, but I’m a big dude and it’s not that hard to avoid ever getting in fights. I work as a bouncer but drunks/wasted frat boys typically aren’t that skilled in combat.

Anyone have any input? Go for it, or just skip it and get stronger/continue to avoid fights?

I am of the opinion that you can gain something out of most training. Tae Kwon Do fighters have excellent kicks. I really liked Hapkido and in that art you could find useful techniques for bouncing such as control holds and the like. So I would go for it.

Generally speaking, you get better at fighting by training techniques that work and sparring in as realistic conditions as possible without risking (much) harm. The realistic, high-effort sparring is one of the main things that set boxing, Muay Thai, Judo, BJJ and wrestling apart from Karate and TKD.

I’ve never done TKD so I’m not sure how much of the activity fits that bill. I’ve always thought of it as more of a sport than a martial art, but that’s just my impression.

Try it. If you like it, rip it.

1 Like