T Nation

Is Raising Your Heels to Squat Considered Cheating?

Hey guys, I'm a beginner. I've been messing around with the bar in the squat rack for three months now, and I find that I just CANNOT perform a flat footed squat. I was falling over again today when FINALLY I received some tips from two very nice guys who were obviously serious weight lifters.

They simply gave me two 1.25kg plates for under my heels. And fuck, yeah, with their help, 1) I sqautted with correct form (they helped me until I did it right) and 2) without falling on my ass.

So...Is that cheating? Arnold does it in the pic....
Can you train yourself to squat without the heel raisers, better question, is it really necessary?!

It's not cheating. You couldn't do it with plates in a PLing competition, but you could always just buy squat shoes. They have heels built in.

1. Widen stance

2. arch your back hard as possible throughout the movement

3. Reinforce torso position with cues (head up, elbows forward)

4. spread knees while dropping into the hole THE PURPOSE OF THIS IS TO LOAD THE HIPS WHICH WILL KEEP YOUR LOWERBACK FROM ROUNDING, IF YOU CAN'T FEEL THE WEIGHT TRANSFERRING TO YOUR HIPS THEN YOU'RE DOING IT WRONG (try this with your bodyweight first to get the hang of it, once you feel it in your hips and not your knees you're probably doing it right)

5. spread your toes out, if you do this too much along with the spreading of your knees you're probably going to feel your groin flexibility limit you, in this case point them out less until you are flexible enough. You're going to have to find your sweet spot in the stance and foot placement with trial and error.

6. Make sure you're driving through your heels, you should be able to lift your toes throughout the lift without falling.

7. Stretch all of the bodyparts involved in the squat daily and do mobility drills, do a search and you'll find several stretching and mobility movements