Is PR Stalling Normal?

New to the forum here with a question about 531. I’m a 40 year old novice who’s been lifting about 6 months. I’m in the 2nd week of the 4th 531 cycle. Up until now I’d been setting PRs weekly on the AMRAP set, however this week it just stopped. My estimated 1 rep max on squats is down 50 pounds from the 3rd week of last cycle and my bench is down 20. I’m still meeting the required minimum number of reps.

Is this kind of performance normal? Should I be alarmed at the sudden change? Do I keep following the program as is or change the 1rm?

It sure can be. Progress isn’t usually linear. I would reset your TMs to what they were 2-3 cycles ago when you were hitting PRs. Follow the 5 forward 3 back methodology.

Which protocol are you following?

1 Like

I’m following the standard 3x5, 3x3, 5/3/1, deload followed by boring but big 5x10 @50% of the same exercise.

How much are you eating?

I’ve stalled on 5/3/1 by being a dum dumb and not eating enough.

1 Like

If you’ve been doing BBB for 4 months, it’s most likely time to change the assistance work. You usually see 6 weeks as the blocks to run assistance templates before moving on to something else. You need to keep assessing and addressing weaknesses.

1 Like

My diet has been embarrassing. Just eating a lot with no direction

I was planning on trying the bbb for 24 months

Any particular reason?

I would highly recommend making sure you are conscious of your diet and doing the program as written. BBB for 24 months is not the program.

1 Like

My neighbor is a successful strength coach and he suggested it. I assume to establish muscle memory and strengthen the entire body before attempting more concentrated movements.

I mean, if you are following his advice on training, why not get his opinion on this subject and run with it?

In general, mixing and matching sources just leads to disaster.

1 Like

I don’t think Jim recommends BBB for beginners.

2 Likes