T Nation

Is My Deadlift Form Good?

Hi,

I've been deadlifting at home for almost 12 months now (within a split training for all bodyparts). I started out very, very light, watched lots of videos and read all the stuff I could find about proper deadlift form, avoiding hurting one's back, etc.

I've worked my weight up to some more serious poundage, and around a month or two ago I started experiencing this mild pain around middle spine. Not during the excercise but the day after and the next day sometimes. I'm not sure if the deadlift is the culprit (could be also the dumbbell squat maybe).

Anyway, my gf took this video of me doing DL with a very light bar, do you think the form is good or bad (terrible)? I was pretty sure I'm doing this okay but after seeing this video myself I am not so sure anymore.

Is my back arched too much in the very low part of the movement (as I pick the bar from the ground / lower it to touch the ground)?

Looks OK on the way up, but you should be following the same path on the way back down. At some points it looks like you are doing two completely different movements when it should look like one.

Dude, next time, tell your girlfriend to hold the camera the correct way.

Yes your back is arched too much. You've been deadlifting incorrectly for almost a year. Bend your knees more on the way down. Your leaning way too forward. It looks like you are doing Good Mornings on the way down. By the looks of that video I will say it is the deadlift that is giving you pain.

You mean rounded? Not arched

I agree, it doesn't look arched at all. Especially on the way down.

Yeah, I guess I mean rounded, when "arched" means rounded in the other direction (inwards).

Well, it's tough to learn I've been doing it wrong. It's close to being my favorite movement of all. Should I try to correct it on my own, or better get social and ask a gym coach to help me out?

In other words, how likely am I to being able to correct my bad form on my own?