T Nation

Is My Bench Getting Worse?

I have been lifting for over 20 years and started lifting raw the last few years. I am still improving in my squat and deads but I think my bench is going backwards. At mid 30-40 years old I could hit 500 lbs in a bench shirt every meet, at the time, I would say 400-405 lbs was max, 365 x 3-4, 385 x 2, were pretty regular. I did a ton of assistance for the shirt, most of which were board presses 1, 2 and 3 boards. I always trained regularly 5-6 times a week with 3-4 benches. From 41-43 years old I had some issues and wasn’t training regularly and lifts went down. I have since got back on a regular routine of raw lifting and my squat and dead are jumping 10-15 lbs each meet but bench has been stagnant, at times I think it is worse. I would also say my geared lifts except bench are back to normal although I train them very sparingly. I have tried some variations of assistance for bench and cut it out at times altogether to see if it helps. Nothing has really changed. I have done 500 lbs over the last year however I was at 215 lbs and normally compete at 205 lbs. This upcoming training session, I am going to do my old program with the same assistance as when I was benching big. Anyone got any suggestions as to what else might be happening? I am 45 now and lifetime drug free, I don’t use supplements other than a stimulant free pre-workout. My bench has ranged from 350-360 in all meets over the last few years. I bench 3-4 times a week, one close grip, one legs up and one speed. I have added a 4th day of light benching. Strange thing is, when I had very sore elbows, for about a year, my bench felt stronger. I don’t max out except at a contest. I know most will say I am just getting old, but the other lifts continue to improve and I feel as good as I did when I was early 30s.

There could be many factors here.

3-4 times a week might be too much frequency at 45 especially if you’ve been training hard and consistent for 20+ years.