T Nation

Is Milk Really the Way to Go for Me?

6'3 215
Guesses here
Bench: 210
Squat: 165 x 5
Deadlift: 165 x5
Im basically VERY Brand new to working out more seriously

I was thinking in the shower today that maybe drinking 2.5L (about 65% of a gallon) of milk isn't really my best option. Im about 6'3 214.5, i guess you could describe me as skinny fat. In the first week of the diet + SS i gained about 3lbs, but I feel like im getting a gut. My lifts are all improving though, so im happy about that. Its not so much the gut that bothers me as it is the cost....

Milk in Canada is pretty expensive, 4L is over $6.5 for 2% (I know not cheapest grocery store but only realistic option), so its going to run me about $28 a week! I figure there must be a better supplement out there than that which can match the calories without that sluggish feeling milk is giving me. Any suggestions?

ANyways attached is a picture, i can def grab booby and stomach fat (oh and i have a bit of gyno)

Well, I'm 16 and I drink 2L of milk and my mom doesn't complain, she just makes me come to the grocery store every time she goes to pick up the 12 Litres of milk which lasts a week (So 18 dollars a week for me, still not too bad)

I treat milk as a partial snack however, so, I would be eating a lot more without it...

and why are your deadlifts and squat so low? Was it your first time doing those lifts? Even beginners (and I mean first few sessions) should get above 200 for deadlifts, with the correct form of course.

Bullshit.

If someone isn't comfortable pulling from the floor they should focus on form to get piece of mind they aren't going to fuck themselves up before pushing too hard. It seems like a better idea for someone to go too lite the first few weeks being conservative, then go too heavy, hurt themselves and never deadlift again.

Everyone starts somewhere, and not everyone starts at 200lbs on a deadlift. You can't just say that shit to people. That is how they hurt themselves.