Is It Time To Switch Programs?

I’ve been doing rippetoe’s for 3 months now…I gained 11 pounds in the first month and a half but haven’t gained anything since. My deadlift has been stuck at 245…squat has been stuck at 245, and I can’t get my bench over 125 =. Is it time to switch up programs? If so, any recommendations? I was thinking about starting on creatine…good idea, bad idea? I’m 5’10 only 156 right now.

Maybe a deload week would help. If you’ve been on a program for 6 weeks, you could change it up if you want. But as a beginner, you could get away with being on the same program for a while and still get gains.
If you want to switch, WS4SB is always good. I personally got great gains with Christian Thibaudeau’s Get Stronger, Get Faster, Get Vertical which you can look up here on T-Nation. If you have a little money to spare, Eric Cressey’s Maximum Strength is a good program. SquatDr’s program, which is the one I’m doing right now, is a good program. And there are many other things you could try, but these are a few I’ve tried and liked.

As far as supplements, make sure you diet is right first. Once that is right, then you could add supplements. However, at such a young training age, I don’t think you need supplements yet.
Just keep on trying to get stronger week in and week out and you will get the size you want.

It might not be your program. Hows your diet? Your intial gains may have been beginner progress. Creatine is not a bad idea, buts not going to make much of a difference if your diet isn’t in line.

Years ago, I used to have a horrible time bench pressing, I could never really move even a small amount of weight. Oddly enough my dumbbell bench was pretty solid. Finally, a guy at my gym just corrected my grip on the bar and it made all of the difference in the world. Since then I have been able to help a handful of people out by passing on his advice.

If your bench is suffering check your grip out man, it might really surprise you.