is it time to start?

I have been lifting 2 1/2 years in that time I have put on 30 lbs. of lean body mass. I started off really thin, I was 6’ 3" 155 lbs when I started. Currently I am at 185 lbs and about 9% or 10% bodyfat. My goal is to gain another 10 to 20 lbs of lbm. Before I started lifting I had taken martial arts for 5 years. One of the biggest pieces of criticism I recieved, was to put on weight.

The questions I have are this. I posted a cycle a couple of months a go, and the general consenus was I needed to gain more weight before starting a cycle. Since then I have gained another 10lbs. My concern is newbies gain an average of 15 lbs of lbm in the first few months of training and more experienced lifters will gain that in a year if they are lucky. As I am nearing that threshold is now a good time to start a cycle. Ideally want to start taking martial arts again in a couple of months, and I would like to make the 200 lbs before I start.

thanks for your help

ps If there is interest I can post the cycle as well as a sample food log.

Also I am 26 years old.

you need to tell us:
your age, how long training?

jaystyles

No I don’t think it’s time to start. Your theory about newbies putting on an average of 15 lbs per year proves ONE thing… you need more years under your belt. Wouldn’t ONE MORE year of training make you reach your 200 lb goal? I think you’re looking for a quick fix.

I was once in your position… 6’1" and 147 lbs. I didn’t start “using” until I was 210 lbs or so, and it took me LONGER than 2.5 years of training. Don’t rush it, your goals will be much more rewarding if you take your time and do it right. Good luck.

to be on the safe side, perhaps a little more training would be best.

i’m not flaming, but 2 years isn’t alot. i believe you could still get bigger natural.

jaystyles