Is It Always Bad To Train If You Are Still Sore?

I’ve been training for over 10 years. As a general rule, I try not to train a muscle group if I still sense soreness in that muscle group. For instance, in college, when I didn’t really know what I was doing, I would basically do a shitload of squats on leg day. I really didn’t do a whole lot of other leg exercises. It would often take about two weeks for my legs to feel fresh again. So, I would wait two weeks before I did another leg day. While that may sound odd, I was Stronger in college then I have been since. I haven’t been able to do anywhere near that amount of weight.

These days, for instance, I trained chest and biceps the other day. Even though I did chest, my shoulders were a little sore from doing chest. Today I did shoulders, even though my shoulders are still a little sore. I feel like my shoulder regimen may have suffered a little bit today because of that. I just don’t know how much I should worry about it or not. The way that I look at it, it may have been better for me to wait longer to do shoulders, but I’m curious what other people think.

It is my opinion that if I hadn’t worked a muscle in a couple weeks, or so, say legs, and I did squats it would make me exceptionally sore. Very hard to walk down stairs. Nearly fall onto the toilet seat, etc. I would train at the next scheduled leg day. As the blood got pumping through my veins the soreness would subside. I see no harm in this approach. And likewise adding a new exercise might bring similar results. I still see no problem working that muscle on the next scheduled workout day.

If I hadn’t missed any workouts and didn’t do a new exercise and experienced soreness in the muscle belly, I would proceed with caution the next workout, testing the feel. If still sore after a few sets, I’d back off any exercise that made the muscle sore.

And of course all attachment soreness requires caution, at least until the pains goes away.

1 Like