T Nation

Is Front Squat the Safest Variation?

I have a history of low back pain and I'm worried about squatting and injuring my low back. Is the safest squat variation the front squat? If not, what is?

Bad form will hurt your back.

Just do it right (back, front, smith, etc) and you will have no problems. I would even look into deadlifts to strengthen the lower back.

I've had a bad back since the age of 16, you learn to cope, work around. But the worst thing you can do is nothing or not do it because "you heard this guy say".

there was recently an article or live-spill topic about 1-leg squat variations which greatly reduce the load on the lower back. should you still run into trouble following JFG's advice, these might be a good option for you.

just a little anecdote:
when i started training, my knees and back were all fudged up (terrible genetics as far as joints go in my family). when i started squatting, my knee pain disappeared, and when i started dl'ing, my lower back pain was cut in half.

Generally speaking, yes. It's very hard to let your form deteriorate enough to make it dangerous. They're a great way to hit the quads without taxing the lower back too much.

Much nicer to my erectors than back squats.

I have had lots of back problems (injuries) over the years, as a beginner lifter i have found that squatting and deadlifting are reducing my episodes of back pain considerably.

I believe that 1. Doing lots of movement repetitions is crucial as a beginner 2.Keeping it light. 3.Listenning to what your back is telling you and 4. My personal favourite is the goblet squat.

I think in general one leg squats are a bad idea, or rather a more risky one but if nothing else works he can try it.

Problem is, people get imbalances doing lifts with both arms/legs. Doing them seperately will probably create a bigger imbalance which will likely result in an injury at some point.