Is Creatine Essential ?

hi i’m a beginner and have been weight training for only a few weeks.
I’ve read alot about creatine/creatine monohydrate and how its supposed to make your muscles bigger, stronger and improve endurance but i was wondering wether or not creatine must be taken when doing an intense workout to have better results or can good results be obtained without using it?
also i’m trying to lose weight so would Biotest Surge be good to use after an intense workout or should another brand be used (maybe with less carbs)?

Creatine is good, but in no way essential. Particularly for a beginner.
-Matt

[quote]Freestyle wrote:
…but i was wondering wether or not creatine must be taken when doing an intense workout to have better results or can good results be obtained without using it?
[/quote]

yes

[quote]Freestyle wrote:
also i’m trying to lose weight so would Biotest Surge be good to use after an intense workout?
[/quote]

yes

I agree with Matgic. There are literally hundreds of studies now on creatine use in a wide variety of sports. The majority show about a 10% improvment in power, especially over repeated efforts.

Like many other supplements, it’s something that’s not essential, though and is best cycled on and off as the months pass. (That is, it may help to consume a Tbsp. with sugary carbs/ protein after training… during intense phases of the year.)

[quote]Matgic wrote:
Creatine is good, but in no way essential. Particularly for a beginner.
-Matt[/quote]

[quote]Lonnie Lowery wrote:
… about a 10% improvment in power, especially over repeated efforts.

[/quote]

And for my money, that’s not worth it, especially when you consider the unpleasantness it causes.

Probably good if you’re a competitive non-NCAA athlete.

BTW, how stupid is the NCAA for banning creatine because a couple of wrestlers abused it?