Is Cheap Meat a Good Idea?

Just quickly I’m a student on a tight budget and im looking to cheap sources of calories. For meat Im thinking about buying beef chucks and other alternatives that are high calorie but contain lots of fat. Considering this is it worth consuming this cheap meat?

Here is a good link on the topic of Reducing the Fat Content of Regular Ground Beef by Draining and Rinsing See, http://healthy.hillbillyhousewife.com/groundbeef.htm

Make sure to look at the links at the end of the article.
From the first link:

“A study conducted at Iowa State University in 1992 focused on methods to further reduce fat in ground beef during preparation. Ground beef of three different fat levels (10%, 20% and 30%) was prepared by three different methods: pan-fried as patties; pan-fried crumbles; and pan-fried crumbles which were subsequently rinsed. All products tested (patties and crumbles) were placed on paper towels after cooking and blotted for 30 seconds. The rinsed crumbles were subsequently placed in a strainer, rinsed with four cups of hot water (150 degrees F), and allowed to drain for five minutes.”

“In this study, 50% or more of the original fat of the 20% and 30% fat ground beef was lost during cooking and blotting of both patties and crumbles. Slightly more fat was lost from ground beef cooked as crumbles. Further warm water (150 degrees F) rinsing of the crumbles was effective in removing about half of the fat still left in the crumbles after cooking and blotting, producing very similar final fat amounts in all three types of ground beef.

“While warm water rinsing greatly reduced fat in crumbled beef, it did not substantially reduce the amounts of protein, iron, zinc or vitamin B-12. However, warm water rinsing of crumbles did significantly reduce the beef flavor and juiciness in the 20% and 30% fat ground beef, and resulted in increased chewiness in all types.”