Is CEE or Ethyl Ester Just Hype?!

Is it just hype?

Should I go with regular creatine monohydrate or get the CEE?

Regular monohydrate.

Hype… :slight_smile:

Is there any worry that CEE is ineffective? I picked up some recently (needed to spend a couple bucks to get free amazon shipping). To be honest I haven’t noticed much of a difference, but I’m a noob so there’s not much to notice in the first place.

hype

[quote]EasyRhino wrote:
Is there any worry that CEE is ineffective? I picked up some recently (needed to spend a couple bucks to get free amazon shipping). To be honest I haven’t noticed much of a difference, but I’m a noob so there’s not much to notice in the first place.[/quote]

Yes. I don’t have the source on hand at the moment but there was a write up in a recent ISSN (I think) magazine which discussed a study comparing monohydrate ethyl ester. Monohydrate outperformed ethyl ester. I’ll see if I can’t add some more details later.

Also I think I recall seeing some studies showing that ethyl ester more easily degrades to creatinine in the gut? May wanna check NCBI pubmed for that though.

Get some monohydrate.

[quote]NewDamage wrote:
Yes. I don’t have the source on hand at the moment but there was a write up in a recent ISSN (I think) magazine which discussed a study comparing monohydrate ethyl ester. Monohydrate outperformed ethyl ester. I’ll see if I can’t add some more details later.
[/quote]

Bummer, I’ll have to check around for more info on that. And it will make the placebo effect a lot tougher to take advantage of!

“Creatine ethyl ester did not show any additional benefit to increase muscle strength or performance than creatine monohydrate or maltodextose placebo. Additionally, total body mass, fat mass, fat-free mass, and thigh muscle mass were not significantly enhanced with creatine ethyl ester supplementation compared to placebo or creatine monohydrate groups.”

Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition 2009, 6:6