Is Bodybuilding Good for Bones?

We all know what it does for muscle but what about bones?

Does bodybuilding really help with bone density and makes the bones more solid?

(I started lifting again after broken sternum and I really feel like it’s helped and sternum is alot more solid now).

I’ve wondered the same thing as well, even though I have never broken a bone.

I don’t know if bodybuilding helps your bones, but the fact that you need to couple working out with proper nutrition, your body is getting stronger and healthier than it would if you ate shit all day long.

Hopefully someone can give a real answer though.

Weight bearing exercise - such as found in many bodybuilding exercises is EXCELLENT for bone density.
Weight training is PRESCRIBED for people with osteoporosis!!

OP… after a break, that bone is usually more stable in that area when it is fully repaired. It is thicker and denser due to the osteo-blast activity in the repair process.

Joe

[quote]Joe Joseph wrote:
Weight bearing exercise - such as found in many bodybuilding exercises is EXCELLENT for bone density.

OP… after a break, that bone is usually more stable in that area when it is fully repaired. It is thicker and denser due to the osteo-blast activity in the repair process.

Joe[/quote]

'Nuff said. Weight bearing exercises cause bone to become more dense. Tendons are strengthened as well.

Ya Bushy, thats the theory i heard, the increased osteoblast activity. I was led to believe it was due to tiny stress fractures though, is that incorrect?

Joe

[quote]bushidobadboy wrote:
Joe Joseph wrote:

Joe

It is debatable whether weight-bearing activity actually promotes increased bone density, or merely slows down the age-related (and inactivity-related) osteopenia or generalised loss in bone density that occurs in all of us.