T Nation

Is an Assault Rifle Needed for Hunting?

i have no experience with guns, or in fact hunting in general. so today when i helped a few flight agents with a couple suit cases i noticed that one of the passengers had an assault rifle. As we waited for the assistance of a couple of TSA agents i asked him why he was traveling with an assault rifle. He said he was using it to hunt. than i made a joke and said " bro are you hunting demons" he said naw im hunting boars.

i didn’t people hunted with assualt rifles. can people not use a simple hunting rifle on boars. are people roaming the woods with assault rifles to kill animals.

depends on where and why they are hunting the boar. I have hunted boar with an AR-15 before (also with a spear, that is a story for a different time, but I highly recommend) and the AR is very useful when hunting large volume of boar. one or two boar? no reason for an AR. trying to take down 20+ in a day? the semi-auto capabilities really do come in handy.

As a whole, I think the AR is overkill for hunting in almost every situation, with one of the few exceptions being boar

Technically an assault rifle, is semi automatic rifle that also has the capacity to select for full auto fire as well, they are in most circumstances only available to the military. The media has a habit of calling even the semi auto only ones assault rifles, either through ignorance or because it sensationalises the story. They both look very similar(almost identical sometimes) but perform different functions.

Even in countries where semi auto rifles are heavily restricted they are the weapon of choice for pest reduction, animal management, due to magazine capacity and speed of follow up fire
Where ever its legal you can hunt game with whatever high capacity magazine, semi autos you want.
Arguments against hunting with a semi auto, you’ll be carrying more weight due to the high capacity 20-30 rounds magazine(though you can get 5 or 10 round mags).