T Nation

Is an Ab Wheel a Must?

There is not an ab wheel at my gym so I have been using a preacher curl bar with 3 10 pounders on each side and doing roll outs with the bar I have never used an ab wheel before and I was wondering if using the preacher curl bar is good enough or is the ab wheel a must? I do feel that I get a good workout with the bar and its is working for me so far.

[quote]gbock wrote:
There is not an ab wheel at my gym so I have been using a preacher curl bar with 3 10 pounders on each side and doing roll outs with the bar I have never used an ab wheel before and I was wondering if using the preacher curl bar is good enough or is the ab wheel a must? I do feel that I get a good workout with the bar and its is working for me so far. [/quote]

You just answered your own question there, don’t you think?

It’s just one of many ab exercises, not something I would consider a must by any means.

I would not thing it is a must-have unless you have very specific goals or if you have a physical impediment for certain exercises (.ie. dead lifts.)

I find ab wheels an excellent thing more for the lower back than for the abs (good for me since I still can’t safely dead lift heavy.)

Now, if you are interested, you can build your own using Ross Enamait’s guidelines

FYI, Ross Enamait is one of the most respected strength and conditioning coaches in combat sports. He has a shitload of good ideas on strength training… just an FYI.

I’ve made a pair of hand wheels following Enamait’s guideline, and let me tell you, they make it a lot harder than a regular hand wheel. Plus the amount of exercise variations you can do with them (ab work, lower back work, push up/pull up variations) is just great.

Give it a try. I’m confident you will fall in love with them if you are into ab wheel training.

[quote]Cephalic_Carnage wrote:
gbock wrote: