Is 531 Good for a Fat Body?

I’ve been doing Wendler 531 boring but big for a few months to a year now. I’ve got my bench to 225, my back squat to 290, and my deadlift to 335 and my op to 155. I am 250lbs 28% bf. I have a side goal of being 20% bf or under (but I like food).

I lift four days a week. Bench on Monday. Deadlift on Tuesday. Overhead press on Thursday. Squat on Friday.

Are these numbers a good ratio for different lifts?

Should I continue with what I am doing if my goal is to break a total of 1000 and lose body fat?

Thank you from a 34 year old beginner

I like food too. I also like not being too fat. Pick which one matters more to you.

Don’t worry about ratios and just get all the lifts to go up. They’ll do that at different rates.

I don’t know, should you? Is what you’re doing effectively helping you achieve that goal?

1 Like

28% bodyfat of 250 pounds = 70 pounds of fat.

To be 20% bodyfat, you need to lose 8%, or 20 pounds. This should be pretty simple, but some people make it more difficult than it needs to be. I’m going to show you below how to make it difficult, and at the end, tell you how it’s simple.

Difficult (diet)

Basically, eat like a 230 pound dude would eat. I’m going to throw ballparks out here, but this is not science… just a rough figure - you’ll have to play around with your numbers and adjust. My recommendation is to try these macros below.

230 x15 = 3,450 calories per day
230 x1.5 = 345 grams protein per day (1380 kcal)
230 x40% = 92 grams of fat per day (828 kcal)
remaining calories = 1242/4 = 310 carbs per day

Simple (form habits)