T Nation

Is 32 Too Old for Local Fights?

What’s up guys?

I’m 32 years old, 5’11, and weigh 185lbs. I’ve decided that I’d like to start Muay Thai training. From there, I hope to also progress on to BJJ, and ideally go for a full on MMA style training… This is my goal for my 33rd Bday (which incidentally is the 18th…)

Brief history:

I started lifting weights… when I was 123lbs… (at the same height… I know… :S) and training basically to ‘get huuuuuge’ so people would stop calling me a bone-rack/skinny ass/Ethiopian etc… typical HS bullshit…

Anyway… I’m in decent shape now… and am around 12 - 15% BF… (fatter then my avatar and with a few more tats… :wink: )

My goals have now changed. I no longer want to train for ‘size’, but more for athleticism, and athletic function… I would LOVE to train and eventually do a fight…

If you guys have ANY tips or whatever, I’d REALLY appreciate it…

I’m gunna start by soaking in this forum…

This is the school I’ll be attending. It’s pretty renowned here in Ottawa. - http://www.oama.ca/

Thanks again!

V.

hands up, chin down, and stay off the flat of your back during sparring especially with guys that weigh more than you. Get a cup. Fight it out in the ammys and also grappling tournaments before even considering going pro. In Texas, once you go pro, you cant go back to the ammys and all fights are ranked so check with your coaches at your school. Dont fight pro without representation like a manager. Get blood tested, AIDS/HIV, hep-C and the like. Build your conditioning up as high as possible. Good luck, train hard.

No, it’s not too old to be a club fighter.

Camtao will probably open again…I see you Oama guys fight all the time. I’m 20…I’m gonna drop to your class and fuck your shit up.

haha jk man. it’s not too old…Hell when I was 18 I fought a 29 year old! If your doing amateur you’ll probably get paired up with a young gun…not that it matters much you will probably be stronger than them though.