Is 1460 a Competitive Total?

I’m new to the competitive lifting game and I have one question. Would 1460 be a competive total? (b/w 200, 17y/o)

bp-405
sq-570
dl-485

Depends.

What fed is it in? What gear are you using? How big is the meet? Competitive in your age group, or competitive overall? Etc.

Your best bet is to figure out what federation you’ll be competing in and check out what the elite total for a 198 is. You might also look at Class I-IV totals. That should give you an idea.

Seeing as your squat is almost 100 lbs over your deadlift I would guess that you are lifting in an equipped fed. Well, whatever federation it may be, 1460 is a pretty impressive 1st meet total, especially for a 17 y.o. 198.

But honestly, who gives a shit if you are competitive? You’ve gotta start somewhere…

If thats unequipped, drug free and contest technique than that would be a great total @198.

Sq and Bp great but deadlift sucks in comparison. Which if that is unequipped makes me think the other lifts aint that good tech, unless you are lifting equipped?

well he has a back injury or its equiped.

I dont see why he would lift equiped if he isnt competeing but what do I know.

a 405 raw bench is always awesome, especially for someone whose 17.

You’ve got a double bodyweight bench press and a 2.5 bodyweight squat. That’s good.

If you’re lifting raw I can’t really understand how your squat is greater than your deadlift.

yes they are, are those your lifts? Maybe some youtube vids I would like to see if you have them.

If you brought your dead up to par by getting it into the neighborhood of your squat you’d have an impressive total. What do you think is behind the near 100lb difference?

[quote]arthursaxon wrote:
If you brought your dead up to par by getting it into the neighborhood of your squat you’d have an impressive total. What do you think is behind the near 100lb difference? [/quote]
Super high squats and/or ridiculously short arms.

[quote]arthursaxon wrote: