IQ and training

I’ve seen quite a few studies that say that intelligence is increased with regular exercise (particularly due to increased oxygen flow to the brain). Do any of you feel “smarter” than when you first started? Do you have any particular favorite exercises that make you feel more alert or focused?

my smarter since lifting good

i actually really started to suceed in school when i started lifting back in senior yr of hs. HOwever while that was an easy yr my sucess has continued thru the 1st 2 yrs of college. i often attribute this sucess to just maturity and working harder but its possibel the gym influenced me

i can see how working out can make your self-confidence increase, therefore, maybe making you think your smart, and making you more optimistic. from my personal expereince, i think i’ve taken on challenges a little easier from lifting. if anything seemed tough i’d tell myself that i’d had to be easier than squatting 405 for 15 reps.

I think if anything since starting lifting I have become more of a meat-head and have lost a lot of intelligence, to put it in the words of my roommate Sal, “for every 20 lbs your bench goes up you lose 20 points on your IQ.”

Jeez, if you guys feel that lifting has made you smarter and you still write that poorly, you must have been damn near illiterate when you started. :wink:

P.S. drod, I got the joke. No need to flame me.

It’s widely known that being a pro bb = genius!
There are plenty of examples to support that theory: Paul Dillet, Craig Titus, Bertil Fox…
It must be an unfortunate coincidence that misguided public equates BB’s with meatheads.