T Nation

IPF Deadlifter vs. Viking Deadlifter

Right so i’ve been looknig into gear and that for a bit now and have more or less decided on a squat suit and bench shirt, i’m new to it all(I mean the gear and not powerlifting) so picking up bits along the way from what i read on the EFS Q&A, has anyone tried either of these suits or found either good? (Convo)

[quote]Vz wrote:
Right so i’ve been looknig into gear and that for a bit now and have more or less decided on a squat suit and bench shirt, i’m new to it all(I mean the gear and not powerlifting) so picking up bits along the way from what i read on the EFS Q&A, has anyone tried either of these suits or found either good? (Convo)
[/quote]

Head to the forum at gometal.com and ask Ano or Jani their opinions since they are the original sources. Tell them some things about your pulling style, experience, etc. and they should be able to steer you in the right direction. Word of warning: if you do end up getting the Viking, get ready for some torn up traps and thighs.

Vz,

That’s a great question but unfortunately one that’s incredibly subjective as it relates to individual lifters. I have two guys on my team that use both of those suits and they set PR’s in them on a reqular basis. These guys are two different body types and one uses sumo and the other conventional. It’s almost impossible to come up with equivilancies between lifters and gear.

Here’s the deal: tighter is not always better in deadlift suits. Do you have other lifters you train with that have equipment that would fit that you could try? If not, pick one of the Metal suits and try it. You can always send it back for a different size. Another thing to consider is to just use your squat suit to deadlift in. If it doesn’t alter technique and the way you approach the bar, then use it.

I use a Titan single ply Centurion Super NGX+ to deadlift in. Most people recommend only to squat in this suit, yet I PR’d my deadlift with this suit.