Iodine Check-In

When TC’s “Iodine Deficiency Epidemic” article came out back in March, it seemed like lots of folks were jumping on iodine.

Now that seven months have passed, does anyone have any results or observations to report?

Thanks!

Hey, cool, I’d like to hear some observations, too.

I was late to the party on that, being that I’m fairly new to T-Nation.
Anyway, I read it over and over again and recently tried it. My waking temp wasn’t far off, high 96 normally, my mid day is low 97, so only a little low. I have struggled with cold hands which is really bad as a massage therapist. 2 weeks in and I’ve had slight increase in temps and my hands have been warming up a little bit. Excited to see where it goes.

I also have my girlfriend currently taking 1 (12.5) iodoral a day and will have her slowly increase the dose, her waking temp was barely 95, mid day was mid 96, after doing some research she also showed other signs of iodine deficiency.

So not really any results to speak of yet, but I do feel slightly better and have better energy since I’ve been taking the iodoral.

I didn’t notice any differences in energy, but it seems like my metabolism is running a ton faster.

I used Lugols back in June/July and my TSH shot up to 14.1. Guess I already get plenty in my diet. Turns out my temps were already normal, but the digital thermometer wasnt accurate. I’ve since gotten a liquid one, but have found the digital gives accurate readings after you do it about 4-5 times in a row. Something is wrong with my hormone levels, but I guess the thyroid problem is just secondary.

Life Extension has a good product for this IMO. Vitamin D + Vitamin K with 1000mcg of sea-iodine added. I noticed a slight boost in metabolism (definitely good for me), maybe from the production of T3 and T4.

[quote]PB Andy wrote: