T Nation

INVESTING

I have a couple hundred bucks that Im looking to invest. No big ammount of money by any means.
 I am new to investing. im educating myself, and I have a few questions I was hoping a few t-maggers would be able to help me out with.
 What would be my best shot : options, which im considering, bonds, or something else?
 Please post your tips and tricks on investing, no matter how little or small. 

to desial23: good for you. Look into a good IRA… I would strongly suggest a Roth IRA… Your local bank can give information on this… Hope this helps

Investing rule #1: DON’T LISTEN TO ANYBODY!!!

Hey check out fool.com. It has alot of good stuff for newbies.

I second the fool.com suggestion, GREAT site about investing. Is this a short term or long term investment? Don’t need to touch for 5 years? 10? 50? Depending on these answers, you could get a lil more help on where to put it.

I don’t know of any broker that will let you invest with less than $2000. May some mutual fund for a grand, but you need more cash to invest.

Pat is right on that… Most IRA’s start at $2000 on up… But its worth looking into.

Thanx for the replies!
 I will look at fool.com.
 After spending last week learning everything i can from options, to stock investing, technical analysis, fibs numbers, graphs, and some bond and mutual fund stuff, I decided that, since mutual funds are much slower  and less profitable, albeit much more secure, than stocks, I decided to invest in stocks.
  I learned a lot, and even my parents who made 5000 bucks from scratch with stocks didnt know about technical analysis, and I was surprised they didnt keep up with the trends in the market. Their lesson? Their 5000 doallars are now worth just about 50 dollars- their shares crumbled down from a healthy 100 bucks to 1 buck a piece, without their even knowing it. I already got my own stock ticker on my computer which rolling around as we speak with the stocks im interested in.