T Nation

Inverted Juggernaut Method Accessories + Tennis

Hi Guys,

Primarily a tennis player, but love SBD. I’m a late novice/early intermediate as far as powerlifting goes (300/270/365 beltless @ bw 210).
I picked inverted TJM because, like 531, I can get through a workout fairly quickly (<30 min for just the main lifts) 3x/week, and I can go play my sport and live my life.

I lift first and don’t want to be too fatigued going in to tennis everyday. If I have 10-15 min at the end of each workout to work on accessories, which exercises would you pick? ab work? unweighted explosive work? agility drills? I do not feel comfortable with olympic lifts without a coach.

I also plan on adding pull ups 1-2x/week.

Thank you

Kyle

I’m not 100% familiar with the Juggernaut method, but if you’re an athlete and have only 10-15 minutes for accessory work, you’ve got to dial in to really just one or two exercises that work whatever you specifically need to address. I’d probably go with something dumbbell-based, to at least somewhat manage the strength discrepancy tennis naturally creates.

I wouldn’t do explosive work or agility drills after lifting, because you’ll be fatigued and won’t get the most out of them. And I do suggest learning the olympic lifts, or at least some kind of clean. If you can teach yourself how to squat/deadlift, and have more than half a brain, you can teach yourself to clean well-enough to see results without getting injured.

I can see what you’re saying about the explosive work. So if I did cleans, they’d be before the main workout also.