T Nation

Internal Rotators Chin/Pull Up

I know Chin-ups work the internal rotators, but do wide grip pull-ups?
How about behind the neck pull-ups?

I'm having shoulder problems and I'm wondering if I need to stop ALL verticle pulling and stick to rows until I "re-balance"
Any help would be great.

Yes, they all do. You'd be best off avoiding all the overhead work until you've taken care of your shoulder issues.

Can shoulder issues be taken care of/healed totally??

I have shoulder impingement syndrome and/or rotator cuff problem in my left shoulder.

I know it takes a lot of time for rehab, so how can we achieve a balanced physique while not doing vertical moves such as overhead presses or pullups??

I have been doing Chin-ups and Pull-ups for many years and have never experienced shoulder problems due to these movements. Naturally, we are all different. However, there are two movements which I will not do because I have found through watching others and general experience (never read a study on it sorry) that they will harm your shoulders. You mentioned them both!

1. Wide grip Pull-ups
  2. Behind the neck Pull-ups

Heal your shoulders first. After they are feeling better resume the Pull-up, Chin-up training but remove wide grip and behind the neck. I bet you won't have anymore shoulder problems. Give it a try and let me know what happens.

Good Luck,

Zeb

Can your advice be applied to my case as well?? (see my previous post above).

I already have problems with my left rotator cuff, but I can do chin ups (palms facing me) with a shoulder-width grip (NOT wide) without any problems.

Its the wide grip, palms facing away movement that triggers the pain and a "clicking/shifting" sound in my left shoulder during a specific point of the chin up ROM.

BTW, once you've got this rotator problems, is there a way to permanently fix them, or do you have to suck it up and live with it for the rest of your training life?