T Nation

Insulin Injections?

I know that some BBer’s use insulin because it is anabolic. What kind of doses do they use and how do they keep from going hypoglycemic? Also, how does it not lead to excessive fat storage.

I work in the medical field and deal with many diabetics. I have given out tons of insulin injections. Of course in all my textbooks the BB application of insulin was not covered (go figure). I am not going to use it myself, just curious as to how it fits into a BBer’s use.

I found some info at mesorx that answered most of my questions.

Care to share your thoughts on this practice. I’d be somewhat interested in what someone who works in the medical feild has to say about this practice.

BTW, is it just me or is preventing going hypo so moronically easy it’s almost shocking that the compound is precieved as dangerous as it is? BTW, that doesn’t mean I’m saying it’s completely safe.

This post was flagged by the community and is temporarily hidden.

To diabetics going high or low on you Blood sugar (BS) is something that they get used to. They are able to tolerate a greater range of abnormal with less signs and symptoms. I have seen people as high as 600 ng/dcl and as low as 30 ng/dcl and not feel it. Normal is around 70-110. To a non diabetic dropping into even the 60’s could have you KO’ed.

If you are awake enough to swallow, shotgunning a soda can bring the levels back up. If you are alone or unconcious it really becomes a medical emergency. I also question how many BBer’s have access to a glucose testing meter ( I mean the pro’s do, but not johnnyjockhead at 24 hr fitness).

With out the meter you won’t know were your numbers are outside of how you are feeling. You also have to take into account how long the insulins action is.Also, what would this do to your body’s own production of insulin??