T Nation

Insulin/Diabetes and Heavy Lifting

Dear gurus of the T NATION
I am 18 year old with diabetes
I've been injecting insulin since 2 years ago, and started seriously lifting for about a year now.
Like everyone else on this site, I stay away from dumb shit fads and pretty boy bullshit when it comes lifting.
I lift heavy, I lift frequently and most importantly I lift smart.
and the result showed some serious growth that I am very proud of.

Ive always known about the insulin's function as an anabolic hormone, but I've only skim the surface of this topic, and the deeper I look into it the more complex it gets.

As a novice, I humbly ask all of you for guidance and directions.

How can i manipulate this hormone for muscle growth and still maintain a healthy lifestyle as a diabetic?

a nice refresher course on the effects of insulin/hypertrophy wouldn't hurt either.

How can i manipulate this hormone for muscle growth and still maintain a healthy lifestyle as a diabetic?

You're kidding right? You're 18, you've got diabetes and need daily insulin injections so you won't die and you're asking how you can 'manipulate' insulin for muscle growth?

You are correct in that insulin is a complex hormone and that it is involved in muscle glycogen uptake, fat storage, blood sugar level regulation and much more besides. I don't pretend to understand it but I know enough to know that a diabetic should not be taking/not taking insulin for any reason other than to treat diabetes.

Insulin manipulation involves dietary changes to cause spikes/drops in blood sugar anyway and has nothing to do with exogenous insulin supplementation. If you try to raise your blood sugar level by not taking your insulin shots you will end up in the ER or worse.

So to sum up:

1 You have a serious medical condition.
2 You want to manipulate the hormone you are injecting for it to maximise muscle gains.
3 You are asking for advice on this on an internet forum.

My thoughts:

1 Bummer.