T Nation

Insomnia Every Night - Any Point In Training?

The subject line says it all. Most nights I either don't get any sleep but am able to sleep an hour or so during the following day or no sleep at all day or night. I've had sleep problems all my life but just carried on thinking I'm probably one of these people who doesn't need much sleep. I know I'm getting stronger but as a beginner I've been told that this is due to my CNS learning to fire off more muscle fibres, not from muscle growth. Anyone else had these problems? Please don't suggest remedies to solve my insomnia because I've tried everything. I just want to know if I'm wasting my time lifting.

You'll make less progress with little sleep, but that's better than no progress.

Its definitely still worth it! As long as you enjoy doing it. Your progress might be slower but that just means you'll have to work harder on everything else that YOU CAN control.

I used to have insomnia then I went to a psychologist and they helped me fix it. It turns out I was stressing about things on a subconscious level. What remedies have you tried? There is a lot of stuff you have to do to sleep well.

Machines need sleep?

Try some ZMA (yup, I did just suggest a supplement).

Why on earth would you quit training because of this?

Not really thinking of quitting but it gets depressing, especially when I'm so tired I'm yawning while lifting. I am already taking a zinc/magnesium supplement. I'm also currently awaiting an overseas shipment of Melatonin. I don't suffer from stress or anything because I work from home only a few hours a day. Thanks for the advice, hopefully Melatonin will do the trick or else I'll try something else.

Keep playin round the with the supplementation, but think long and hard about quitting one of the best things you can do for your health and life in general.

Best of luck

Have you seen a doctor?

When you say you have tried all the remedies are you following all the "rules" of good sleep?