Insomnia Due to Lifting

Hello everyone

I have always struggled with insomnia at some points since I started lifting. I have tried many things so far, but none of them seemed to work in the long run.

Here is some background information about myself. I am 21 years old, and I am 171cm (5’7) tall. I started lifting and bulking 13 months ago when I only weighed 52kg (115lb) at around 14% BF. Now I am 77kg (170lb) at around 18% BF.

Personally, I am happy with my progress, my life completely changed in this year. However, I think I could gain muscle faster if I fix my insomnia issue.

The sleeping problems start when I work out intense for ~3 days in a row. I always work out for around 90min in one session and I always go to complete muscle failure during each set.

The problem is not falling asleep, but staying asleep. I fall asleep fairly quickly, but I tend to wake up after like 5h, and I have big troubles falling back asleep again. Sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn’t, it depends on how intense my workouts were the days before.

Due to this issue, I can only work out around 4 days per week maximum without getting sleep issues. I always need to take 3 days off per week in order to not disturb my sleep too badly.

I have tried many things already, but nothing seemed to work well. Melatonin only works for falling asleep faster, but it does not keep me asleep. I also tried ZMA, Ashwaghanda and other herbal stuff but nothing seems to help. I even went to my doctor, and he prescribed me 15mg Mirtazapine for sleeping. Initially it worked well, and I could get my 8h sleep, but after a few months it stopped working also. And I also don’t think that taking sedating antidepressants for sleep would be a good idea in the long run. Luckily, it did not make me addicted, and the sleeping situation did not worsen after I stopped taking Mirtazapine.