T Nation

Injuries Preventing Workout Routine

I was injured logging 4 years ago, now. Before the accident I had never worked out a day in my life, I never needed to. Born in a small farming town in Ontario, I started logging when I was 15 and never looked back…muscles naturally grew doing haying and firewood and the like. I fractured off 4 transverse-processes from L1-L4, which is the lower back, or lumbar region for those who don’t know. As well as a couple fractured ribs, herniated disc L5-S1, punctured/bruised liver, kidney and spleen.

This isn’t a “feel bad for me” story, just facts. I’ve been working out off and on for 3 years now, a lot more “off” the first 2 years. Basically Christmas of Dec/07 I still wasn’t walking straight, and could barely do bodyweight lunges, squats, etc. It was pretty bad.
Anybody else on T-Nation struggle with missing workouts due to pain, or not willing to push because of being scared to reinjure/cause more pain, anything similar? I’m sure there have to be other people that go through some of this when it comes to the gym, not everyone on here can have a perfectly pain free body…

I think most people, especially athletes, have dealt with injuries at some point of time.

For you, I’m pretty sure you’re consulting with a doctor, but see if there are any anti inflammatories you can take (fishoil/flame out or ibuprofen or aspirin).

You need to be careful though, as you can reinjure things pretty easily.

Let the pain be your guide.

I’m definately not trying to be rude when I say this…

I understand the above posters advice, but if I can’t go to the gym to do weights more than twice a week, or can’t run 5km without frequent breaks, it’s harder to feel I’m making progress. As an example, if I’m supposed to do deadlifts on Monday, but my back is bugging me, do I just skip it until the next Monday?