Injured at BJJ, Confidence Gone

Hey guys, I’ve been training BJJ for about 8 months now, progressing nicely and I have my first grappling tournament in two weeks. I was very excited about my prospects until this week.

On Friday I was feeling a little under the weather but I went to train anyway, and during rolling got paired up with a guy that out-weighed by a good 40-60 pounds at least (I have been cutting weight for tourny weight class).

I was tapped 5 times in five minutes (no big deal, training is for tapping). During our last roll I got on his back and instead of putting my hooks in, I foolishly crossed my feet. He cranked the shit out of an ankle lock and I’m out of commission for a week.

I know I will be alright to compete in two weeks, but I feel like all my confidence to compete are gone. I keep replaying the entire session in my mind. I never put up much resistance, I was just rag dolled. This never happens even with big guys. I know I didn’t feel 100% but I shouldn’t have done that poorly against another white belt.

This ever happen to anyone training in combat sports?

Yup. Two weeks before my second tourney I sprained all the toes on my right foot. I went from thinking I was going to own the blue belt division to “Damn, hope I don’t lose my first match” (I did). I went anyway, and did alright for not being able to change levels and shoot properly (bronze and silver).

Just go.

Getting over your insecurities is part of what competing is about. Don’t think about winning. Think about being the very best submission grappler you can be.

Go for fun, you may lose a couple of a good positions due to your feet, but is a valuable experience nonetheless.

Just enjoy the ride and forget about the pressure, the first tournament is not something to fret over, just see how it feels.

And getting used to fighting much heavier guys is awesome from your confidence, remember you will be fighting guys your size/weight-class and not 60lbs heavier.