Inhuman's Rugby Training Log

Hey all,

I’m a 17 year old freshman at Bowdoin College in Maine and I’m a forward for the rugby team. I’m the smallest forward on the team and gaining weight is a priority at the moment. I’m 5’10", 165 pounds.

I’m going to lay out my goals, short and long term. Right now it’s the fall season and we practice 5 days a week for 2 hours. I’m genetically a really skinny guy, so I don’t gain weight easily when I’m doing what amounts to intense cardio 5 days a week. So basically, my goals for this season are to maintain my weight and strength, and see if I can’t gain several pounds or add some weight to my lifts as well. If intense lifting is burning me out though, I’ve got to just maintain.

During the off season, I’m going to be lifting to grow. My goal here is to put on 10 to 15 pounds (muscle or not but preferably muscle of course) before spring season so I’m around 175/180.

For the spring season, my goal is much the same as with the fall.

After the spring season, I’m going to do some more absolute strength training (1RM stuff) over the summer so that hopefully I can come into my fall season next year with some big lifts.

So basically my long term goal is to about 185 by next fall, with a 1RM bench/squat/deadlift of 275/325/400. Might be ambitious, but I want to push myself as hard as I can.

I’m going to post up my fall season training and my diet next.

So I’m going to lifting 2 to 3 times a week. The schedule is random like that because a scheduled lifting day might be on the day I’m supposed to do sprints or the day before a game. This should be okay however because I’m planning on doing a rotating A/B workout schedule. So all going well it’ll look like this:

Week 1
Monday - A
Wednesday - B
Friday - A

Week 2
Monday - B
Wednesday - A
Friday - B

If I have to miss a day, I’ll just pick up where I left off. Here are the workouts:

Workout A
Back Squat - 3X5
Bench Press - 3X5
Barbell Row - 3X5
Hyperextensions - 2X15