T Nation

Inguinal Hernia

Alright people, awaiting an inguinal hernia op. Been working out for 6 months and now have to stop lifting and pretty gutted, any ideas on whats safe to do in the mean time. The surgion said I can lift 2 weeks after my key-hole surgery. This seems too good to be true !, anyone been there and done that ? Thanks in advance for any ideas.

Hey buddy,

2-3 weeks off lifting isnt too bad. Have a rest, let your ligament and tendons have a break.

Can you expain to me the symptoms of a inguinal hernia. Im having problems with my groin/lower abdomiman myself. What type of surgeon does your surgery?

tweet

Hi 'the bird'

Yea the 2-3 weeks wouldnt be to bad but ive had the hernia for the last 8 weeks and the op could be in as much as another 10 weeks so its really doing my head in, as a beginner I was just starting to see some results and since the new hernia its all starting to fade.

The symtons is a small bulge on the left or right side of the groin area just below the bet line. Think the surgeon is a normal one who does all sorts of ops, my surgion is called Mr la la beleive it or not . Nice guy, he operated on my last one, but i was'nt training back then !!

J What's up I have had my Ing Hernia going on 2 years I am lifting 4 times a week my doc told me to wait as long as I Could I wear a hernia belt without the pad in it I take a tshirt sleeve and roll it up and put it on the left side where my hernia is. It really sucks having a hernia but it is just a minor set back compared to some injuries and or critical diseases at least that is how I look at it! It has made me lift more controlled tightening my core on every lift let me know how your surgery goes because I know I will have to have surgery eventually as well.

Oh yeah my brother inlaw had ing hernia surgery too he had the mesh put in and it took him a good month before he was really back at it he said it was rough the first week and tender for about a month