T Nation

Information overload for the newbie: what do I do?

I am a newbie to this site, but not necessarily a newbie to working out. I have been doing searches and have been reading a lot of articles, and I have to say, all the different tips really confuse the hell out of me. I basically don’t know where to go from here. I’ll lay out who I am, and what I’ve done, and what I want.

I’m 28, and have been lifting off and on for 5 years or so, really. I’ve got the kind of body that seems to put on muscle easily, to a point, and then I plateau and lose interest. I’m 6’1”, 178, and would describe my body as an ectomorph type with limited fat but very good muscle definition. I lift for strength, and to look good (more so the latter). I want to know how to get better. Below I have summarized the 3 upper body exercise days I devote time to (I know, I should do legs too – I never have to this point.), weights, and reps. I’ve basically just added weight to the exercises I do, and try to do lots of sets. This was my routine the past week:

Shoulder day:
Seated overhead Dumbbell presses (weights per dumbbell) : 15 x 20 lbs, 12 x 40, 10 x 55, 8x 70, 8x 70, 6x70
Shrugs (standing, on a machine you mount plates on): 20x 90 lbs, 18 x 180, 15 x 270, 12x 360, 10 x 430, 10 x 430, 10x 430
Rows (seated, pulling the weight toward me, on a metal device you mount plates on): 15 x 90lbs, 10 x 180, 8x 200, 6 x 200, 6 x 200, 8x180
Side extensions, dumbbell: 15 x 20 lbs, 10 x 30 lbs, 8 x 40 lbs, 6 x 45, 6x 45, 10 x 35

Chest day:
Bench press: 12x 120, 10 x 210, 8 x 245, 6 x 265, 4 x 315, 4 x 315, 12 x 210
Incline bench: 12 x 120, 10 x 180, 8 x 210, 8 x 210, 7 x 210, 10 x 120
Dumbbell Flys (weights are per dumbbell): 12x 25, 10 x 40, 8 x 55, 6 x 65, 6 x 65, 8 x 55 Incline Flys (identical sets and weight)

Arms day:
Hammer curls: 12x 20 lbs, 10x 40 lbs, 8 x 55, 6 x 65, 6x65, 5x 65, 8 x 55.